top of page
  • Writer's pictureSergeant Kili

CAN Collecting Gave Me Best Friends

This team means everything to me.


In the last few weeks I have had the privilege to travel to Hawaii, pitch Cans for Kili at a pitch competition, and go to Gatlinburg to reflect on my OrrFellowship Experience. Although all of these events don’t seem to relate to collecting cans, they do! Because in every experience I am wondering how I can help the environment, recycle a can, and promote Cans for Kili.


Through the Cans for Kili team I have been pushed to do more. While in Hawaii, I went on many hikes with amazing views. While that was the best part, with each step I knew it would become training for summiting Mt. Kilimanjaro. I pushed myself to ensure I will be able to make it to the top of the mountain. Literally.


While we continue to collect cans as a team in Indianapolis, we are planning for a big event in May as well as push the overall goal of creating a recycling mindset in the city. Part of this effort involves presenting our non-profit mission to as many people as possible. Through this goal I have gotten the privilege to become best friends with my team and have been given incredible real-world experience, including a pitch competition. This space allowed me and the team a platform to present our goals and wants from the community.


Lastly, I took a trip to Gatlinburg, TN with my Orrfellowship Group, which includes the C4K team. Here I continued to reflect on how the Cans for Kili project was only made possible from these incredible people. They have pushed me to do the impossible and take action where I never would have pursued before. I now make an effort to recycle and contioiusly think about it in my everyday life. In Gatlinburg, we collected cans. Although we couldn’t bring them all home, they were separated and recycled! A HUGE win!


I look forward to continuing being challenged. I look forward to continuing to have fun with this team. I look forward to the difficult climbs. I look forward to crossing the finish line!


If you want to become a part of this team, reach out! We are looking for as many volunteers to help in May as well can get to collect cans at the IMS. You too can join the fun and environmental efforts.


64 views0 comments
bottom of page